5G cuts the wires of the smart grid

Some say that 5G is addressing the problems energy and utilities might have in 5-10 years, so what’s the hurry? Is it just another hype?

It is true that 5G is the future but it is also right here, right now. Cellular massive machine type communication (mMTC) is being selected for large smart metering deployments, utilities are securing spectrums and invests in 5G ready private LTE networks. There are trials where 5G ultra reliable low latency communication (URLLC) is used for ancillary services to provide synthetic inertia, voltage control and frequency regulation.

 

Thu 10 Oct 2019
11:00 London •12:00 Paris • 18:00 Singapore • 06:00 New York

Webinar Overview

According to many analysts, energy and utilities will be one of the industries spending most on 5G enabled technologies and services to drive industry digitalization. In a way, the evolvement of the smart grid will converge with the deployment of 5G, enabling not only synergies but also bring new business opportunities for both telecom operators and utilities.

Utilities are perhaps not expected to start doing major investments in 5G as of now, but if utilities are not yet relating their investments- and critical business decision to 5G, it is about time to start doing so.

 

Key takeaways

In the webinar, Marcus will explain:

  • What 5G is and how it relates to the evolution of the energy and utilities transformation
  • The smart grid future in light of 5G, its ecosystem and interoperating players.
  • What is available now and what to expect from in the near future?
  • What are the use cases where 5G really has an impact and when not?