LAUNCH: Tradeable securities in Energy Performance Contracting

Does the EPC model give users the competitive edge to allow for scale?

Thu 26 Sep 2019
12:00 London •13:00 Paris • 19:00 Singapore • 07:00 New York

Webinar Overview

Energy Performance Contracting (EPC) has been in use in the European Union since the 1980s, yet the market remains underdeveloped. Despite political pledges, grant funding, and good will of market players to “aggregate” and “scale up”, the industry continues to think small – on a project-by-project basis. Small thinking has not led to growth: Energy Performance Contracting – including the assets attached to these contracts – has not become a securitizable asset class in its own right, such as residential or commercial mortgages. 

 

LAUNCH is an EU-backed project under the H2020 scheme, that aims to overcome these issues and encourage market growth in a manner which will launch the market for tradable securities. The LAUNCH consortium is developing and piloting standardized processes required by both investors and project developers, in effort to enable the aggregation and securitization of small projects and the creation of more robust pipelines.                                                                         

 

What you’ll learn:

• Why should securitization be the end goal for all energy retrofit projects?

• What do standardised Energy Performance Contracts and Risk Assessment have to do with securitization?

• What is the connection between sales process, growth capital and project finance in the context of scale and aggregation?

• How can project developers benefit NOW from LAUNCH?

 

Speakers: 

• Jessica Stromback, Managing Director, Joule Assets

• John O’Rourke, CEO, New Energy Group