Smart Grid Standards “Business As Usual” In Europe

Work on the European Commission’s mandate on smart grid standards has wrapped up
Published: Thu 05 Mar 2015

Back in March 2011 the European Commission issued the standardization Mandate M/490 requesting the three standardization organizations CEN, CENELEC and ETSI to develop a framework and standards for the smart grid. With the final outcomes and deliverables of that work presented during the last week of February, the mandate can now be considered terminated.

“This implies that smart grid standardization can be considered, from today, as ‘business as usual’,” says Gerhard Seyrling, president of T&D EUROPE, the electricity transmission and distribution equipment and services industry association, which participated in the standardization activities. “Based on the standards presented we will be able to provide better and more competitive solutions. We encourage all stakeholders to apply these standards, in order to create more value to them.”

Smart grid standards in Europe

The deliverables of the Mandate are:

• Extended set of standards supporting smart grids deployment

• Overview methodology, including a general market model development overview outlining the conceptual model and its relation to market models for smart grids, smart grid architecture model user manual and flexibility management overview

• Smart grid interoperability methodologies and an associated Excel tool to identify interoperability requirements

• Smart grid information security guidance and recommendations.

The set of standards covering about 23 types of smart grid systems and more than 500 standard references from more than 50 different bodies is intended to depict the portfolio of European and/or international standards and to facilitate interoperable solutions based on standards. Further it is intended to provide to any kind of smart grid users a selection guide which, depending on the targeted system and the targeted layer (component, communication or information layers), will set out the most appropriate standards to consider.

Thus, the proposed framework should assist European member states, smart grid system owners and others to specify their smart grid solutions corresponding to their own requirements and taking into account specific national legislations and local situations.

Core smart grid standards for Europe

Core standards that have an enormous effect on any smart grid application and solution, and are seen as a backbone of a future smart grid, are identified as follows:

• IEC 61970/61968 – Common information model (CIM)

• IEC 62325 – CIM based energy market information exchange

• IEC 61850 – Power utility automation, hydro energy communication, distributed energy resources communication

• IEC 62056 – COSEM

• IEC 62351 – Security

• IEC 61508 – Functional safety.

Important smart grid standards for Europe

Other highly important standards are:

• IEC 62357 – Power utilities reference architecture – SOA

• IEC 60870-5 – Telecontrol

• IEC 60870-6 – TASE2 inter control centre communication

• IEC/TR 61334 – DLMS

• IEC 61400-25 – Wind power communication

• IEC 61851 – EV communication

• IEC 62051-54/58-59 – Metering

Smart grid standards methodology

The aim is to regularly re-assess and update the set of standards based on new market requirements and new standardization achievements.

The role of the methodology is to support and assist other standardization groups with easily applicable methods and architectures. The methodology provides tools for the identification and structuring of requirements for new smart grid standards and provides a framework for their development and presentation.

Further reading

CENELEC: Smart grids